Startseite > Uncategorized > MythTV on the ASUS A78L-M/USB3

MythTV on the ASUS A78L-M/USB3

A couple of quick notes on my MythTV setup. My combined frontend/backend runs on an A78L-M/USB3 board on Arch Linux. I updated the BIOS from 0211 to 1503 without any problems today.

Wake on Lan

The MythTV Wiki on WOL says to use ethtool -s g to enable WOL. On my setup, I need ethtool -s bg. My box is running Arch with systemd, so my /etc/netctl/ethernet-static looks like this:

Description='A basic static ethernet connection'
Interface=enp2s0
Connection=ethernet
IP=static
Address=('192.168.0.200/24')
Gateway='192.168.0.1'
DNS=('192.168.0.1')
ExecUpPost='/usr/bin/ethtool -s enp2s0 wol pg'

Don’t forget to enable „Wake on PME“ in the BIOS setup.

ACPI Wakeup

My box turns off automatically to save power. The backend sets a wake-up time to start it back up in time for the next recording. This works pretty much as described in the MythTV Wiki on ACPI Wakeup. However, I had to disable the HPET function to make it work.. Disable the HPET timer by adding hpet=disable to the boot parameters in /boot/grub/menu.lst. Mine looks like this:

# (0) Arch Linux LTS
title  Arch Linux LTS
root   (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-linux-lts root=/dev/disk/by-uuid/92e04f63-eac7-40a3-b063-34a5daaddab1 ro hpet=disable init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd
initrd /boot/initramfs-linux-lts.img

As you can see, I am using the LTS kernel.  This is Linux 3.0 right now, so your results might differ on a newer kernel. In the BIOS setup, you have to disable „Wake On RTC“. Yes, this is quite counter-intuitive.

That’s it

I hope my notes will help someone. I’ve had the hardware for quite some time now, but only got around to sharing my notes today as I was working on the box. Don’t forget to read the wiki articles I linked.

Kategorien:Uncategorized
  1. Es gibt noch keine Kommentare.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Kommentar verfassen

